A lesson in tooth decay….the hard way.

This mom is having a mouthful of dental issues.  Next week, I’ll be having an abscessed tooth removed.  In the meantime, Momma Taderdoodles is more than willing to remind her children how incredibly painful this is, to have a hole in your tooth, to have it be all infected, and on and on and on.  (quietly giggles)

Can anyone guess how many times my girls have brushed their teeth in the past couple of days?  I still can’t get either of them to use their fancy blue stuff that tells them where the plaque is but their brushing, and that is what is important.

I started remembering those times in school when the dentist would come visit.  He’d pass out those red tablets, and we would all get a new toothbrush.  Being a homeschooling family, we don’t have a dentist coming to visit for a fun school day.  I don’t see dental appointments as the same thing, definitely not as much fun.

I went looking today for a few fun websites to play on, for worksheets to print out and some other fun avenues to help my kids learn a little bit about what’s happening in mommy’s mouth and their own.

Crest had a cool “eggsperiment”

so did HealthyTeeth.org (not to mention a really cute animated graphic of a tooth brushing itself 🙂  )

Dentistry.com
has some fun games (can you say Whack a Molar)

MouthPower.org, with the National Museum of Dentistry has an amazingly packed site in English and Spanish! Tons of stuff for teachers too!

and it was fun playing “To Tell the Tooth” from ADA.org!

Take a moment to try a new subject! Make a day out of exploring your teeth!

Powered by ScribeFire.

6 responses to “A lesson in tooth decay….the hard way.

  1. Pingback: Are you having a snow day? « I’m not crazy, I’m homeschooling.

  2. Pingback: Are you having a snow day? « I’m not crazy, I’m homeschooling.

  3. Pingback: Are you having a snow day?

  4. Hey there! This is kind of off topic but I need
    some help from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Appreciate it

  5. This is a really good tip especially to those fresh to the
    blogosphere. Simple but very precise information… Thank you for
    sharing this one. A must read article!

  6. You actually make it seem really easy along with your presentation however I in finding this matter to be really one thing which I believe I would never understand.
    It kind of feels too complicated and extremely large for me.
    I am looking ahead in your subsequent post, I’ll attempt to get the grasp of it!

Leave a Reply

