Starting the Journey

While the girls are on their Christmas break, I thought I’d take some time to post some tips on getting started on the journey.

Today’s Tip: Find other home schoolers.

While I was pregnant with Samantha, I discovered that a church friend of mine was a home schooling mommy. I had NO idea! I was so surprised to find out that she was home schooling FOUR kids in different grade levels. It still blows my mind that she can do that and still keep up with all the other activities in her life. She is an avid baker, they maintain a small farm, cares for elderly family members, is active at church, etc. Phew! I’m tired just thinking about it.

She has been sharing with me the joys of home schooling for years now. When I was anxious about making the move, I called her. When my mom was undeniably upset about our decision, I called this friend. Friends are good.

Last summer, I was turned onto CafeMom, where I found several home school groups. These groups share information about schooling on a budget, classical schooling, eclectic schooling, places to take field trips, and more! Another place to find groups is on Yahoo. I did a quick search in Yahoo Groups and found the home school group that we now meet at the park. This group offers a Latin class for the older kids once a week, and afterwards they all go play at the park. They recently organized caroling at the local nursing home. If you’re looking for a more official organization check out http://www.hslda.org/laws (the Home School Legal Defense Association) and click on your state, then select the organizations tab.

We live in a small town, and it did not take long before “rumor” got out that we were seriously considering moving to home schooling our daughters. The home school moms seemed to come out of the woodwork! I think most of us would be surprised to see how many families near us home school.

Keep in mind that we all home school differently. Use these new friends as a sounding board, a shoulder to lean on, and pick a group that will let you pick their brain. Home school moms respect the fact that all families are different. You don’t have to follow what I did. It may not work for you. That’s what so great about these groups. It is an easy way to see what has worked for someone, and find new alternatives if what you were trying suddenly stops working.

Next tip: Find your child’s learning style….

6 responses to “Starting the Journey

  1. Amen! Homeschooling is easier with friends to share the experience with.

  2. Pingback: Starting the Journey-Step Two “Tuning In” « I’m not crazy, I’m homeschooling.

  3. Starting to homeschool has helped ME get socialized!

  4. No kidding! I have more friends now than ever before, and my kids hardly ever come home with me after a field trip! I love it!

  5. I need to go on a field trip then! You mean you can score free babysitting out of this!

  6. Pingback: Starting the Journey-Step Two "Tuning In" - Chaos Appreciation

Leave a Reply

