I need a little help from my friends!

She’s driving me NUTS!

I can’t figure out how to get her to stop goofing off with her book work.  She tries to write without looking, or writes  obscenely big letters,  or just gets sloppy.  Something she DID yesterday, or even ten minutes ago, she says she doesn’t know how to do–like add 2 plus 3.    We don’t do a ton of book work, but I feel like she should do SOME of it at least.  These sheets are too easy!  I thought maybe her behavior was because they were so easy, so I found some harder ones… but I still get the same thing.    I know she didn’t do this in public school.  It’s just her way of pushing my buttons.   All I can do is stop school for a time out, because I don’t want to get so frustrated that I yell at her.  So I just stop.   I’ll let her go do something educational on the computer, which she is a wiz at doing…   but I can’t let her just do school online with all these games… can I ?

I’m really starting to feel the pressure of having something to “show” for what we’ve been working on.

I need some suggestions my friends!  How do I get her to focus and just finish her work….  it wouldn’t take her fifteen minutes!  AGH!

4 responses to “I need a little help from my friends!

  1. Relax. Talk to her about what she is doing, what she is learning from what she is doing. Occasionally I will write out on my blog all he stuff my kids did on a “no worksheets” day. It is a great reminder of how much they are actually learning throughout the day. My middle daughter is like that–she can never focus on what she is doing and forgets from day to day what she has done on paper. There are some great educational game sites that might help–My kids have a portal full of educational games that are at their levels:http://www.shamusyoung.com/kidsportal/kidshome.html . Check out I4C and Dositey. The kids LOVE both of those and I can easily document that they spent 15 minutes playing such and such a game if need be. I know there is a lot of pressure from lots of family and friends to be able to prove what she is learning. A learning journal or a blog is the perfect tool for non-traditional learning that is going on. Spend a few minutes asking her questions about what she knows, pull out some dice and play a game where one person rolls them and then tries to find the answer within a set ammount of time. Play number rings or boggle together. Seldom does eal life use of what we learn apply in the way we learned it (worksheets) let her use what she is learning in real life situations–give her a pile of crackers and do math with those (my son ALWAYS does math with his food.) Just make notes of what she is actually learning and what she can do and you will realize how much she is actually ylearning every day.

  2. Shouldn’t see be doing something to practice writing though?

    It’s like she just refuses to do it the way she’s being told to do it….

    (Oh, I have checked out your portal before 🙂 I think it’s great, I might even make Sammy one!)

  3. My daughter also loves power struggles, and sorry to say it does not seem to get better. If you are just wanting her to do what you are asking her to, respect you, then don’t let her get up until she is done.

    If on the other hand it is just practice writing on worksheets to get better at writing letters or making shapes, then try a chalk board or writing a letter to santa (most kids will do anything if they think they are getting toys lol). My 2nd grader still does not like to write, and it is like pulling teeth to get her just to fill in the blanks on a reading comprehension assignment.

    Here are some things that we have tried:
    1. hand writing without tears (I did not stick with it, my problem not the curriculum)
    2. bribes – finish this worksheet and we will go to the park
    3. playing restaurant – she writes the menu complete with prices (handwriting, spelling, math, concept of money, oh yes many lessons in one), and then I order and all of the kids work together to bring me “lunch”

    Like Heather said she is learning, and perhaps writing is just not her thing. Of course she will have to learn, but perhaps now is not the right time for her. My daughter was reading by Feb of Kindy, but she did not write much until Dec of 1st grade, and that is only because I made her at that point.

  4. Wendy! Thanks for the support… I remember reading somewhere that kids this young may actually have wrist and/or back pain from trying to write too much. So sometimes I’ll let her call out the answers to me instead of actually writing them down. I’ll give that restaurant trick a try! Sounds fun!

    Oh, and thanks for agreeing to be an author over at Walking in the Valley!

Leave a Reply

