Hanging in there through the holidays…

I think my mom was surprised….  On Monday morning of our week long vacation to “Nanny’s House”, we still got up and did “school”.  I was up way too early in the morning, mainly because I’m used to getting up early, and Sam wasn’t too far behind me.  I think she got up around 7am, maybe 7:30.  I had only brought her workbooks as a just-in-case.

I’m glad I did. She wasn’t awake more than fifteen minutes when she asked me “Is it Monday Momma?” When I said yes, she ran over to her book bag and asked me to pick out some stuff for her to do.  We curled up on Nanny’s couch and did a few math sheets and some reading sheets.

We did the same on Tuesday, which ended up being enough “book work” for the whole week.

I had tried to explain to my family that “school” happens all the time, you just have to be looking for an opportunity.  We went spotlighting deer (just to look…. not to hunt), and Ganny (grandpa) ended up spending two hours talking about deer and turkeys, where they live, what they eat, what they sound like.  JoJo can do a mean deer impression! Not to mention the “adding” practice we acquired while adding the three new deer to the ten we had already seen.

It is a little frustrating, however, when you know you’re with a group of people who don’t approve of homeschooling and they ask  your child a very simple question only to have your child become totally ignorant.  For example:

Nanny: “How many deer does that make Sammy? We had 29 and we just saw one more!”

Sammy: “Twenty Ten”

I was close to screaming!  This child can count to one hundred!  Why in the world would she say twenty ten and not thirty!

Now that we’re home, it’s hard to get back into the swing of things. Part of the problem is we have a ton of crafts to make and cookies to bake for Christmas gifts.  Maybe I can could reading the cookie mix instructions as our “Reading class” for the day!

Hoping everyone had a great Thanksgiving!!

4 responses to “Hanging in there through the holidays…

  1. I HATE that. Random strangers occasionally quiz my kids on math–which is frustrating since both my daughters and myself have math related learning disabilities and off the top of the head numbers almost ALWAYS come out wrong, even when we know the answer. Sigh.

  2. I agree! Why the quiz, and why is it when our kids can’t answer one question out of ten right, then we should put them back in school, but when public school kids miss the same question they just need practice? UGH!

    We read the ingredients, work on measurements, learn how to follow the recipe, work on safety in the kitchen, and most importantly how to care about others. We usually do not do much “formal” school during the Christmas season, but they learn so much about how to care for others that makes them think about others the rest of the year. For us school is more than reading and math, it is really how to be the person that God wants us to be. Enjoy the crafts and baking!

  3. Normally Sam rises to the challenge when it comes to pop quizzes like that. She’s only in Kindergarten though…the questions are pretty easy…

    what drives me nuts is being “hinted” to as to whether she’s done PhysEd or Arts or Music….

    I don’t understand why people can’t just trust that I can do this.

  4. I wonder the same thing. It is not that hard to teach our kids, and since we love them and care deeply about their future we work very hard to ensure that they are successful.

    Um, those extras are not requirements in many school districts now since funding was cut. Sad, but even here in our “rich” district (the district not us lol) kids only take one semester of each extra a year to save money on teachers.

    I trust ya! 😉

Leave a Reply

