2 + 2 is NOT 22…. hmmmm.

I must say, this little misunderstanding between my daughter and her math concepts is getting old.  I can’t decide if she simply is not “getting it” or if it’s just easier to say 3 + 1 is 31!  AGGGHHH!!

I have tried her counting up string, counting beads, counting beans, counting pennies (what a disaster that was!).  I’m not giving up though.  Today I’m going to take Kelly‘s advice.  She posted a comment earlier suggesting placing painters tape on the floor and letting them “Hop Up” as they add.  I went on a cleaning spree yesterday and now have floor space to do this fun activity!

We’ll follow it up with a worksheet, Sam always likes those.

I’m confused, however, with regard to her math abilities.  We went through one of her department store math books yesterday and she did subtraction with NO problem!  I wasn’t even helping her.  I wasn’t going to show her subtraction yet.  We’re still in our first semester of Kindergarten for goodness sakes.  I’m more interested in making sure she can read.  She just jumped in and brought me the worksheet when she was done!

Well, confused and still guzzling coffee, I’m off to my favorite math worksheet site to print off some “problems” for us to “HOP” into today!  Have fun with your homeschooling today and God Bless!

4 responses to “2 + 2 is NOT 22…. hmmmm.

  1. Math has never been my stron suit and never will be. IM just not that side of the brain. My daughter doesnt like mayh, but is teaching herself through a Saxon dvd guide and doing well. My son (who is 8) had trouble with adding 3 digits with the carrying, so we went back to his favorite (graphs!) and will come back to the other work later. It is so hard to know what to do sometime 🙂

    PS- I have days where IM sure 2+2=22. haha

  2. Kelly you’re so funny! I have those days too. hehe

    The masking tape idea is great! I never thought of that.
    If subtraction is something she gets, maybe work more on that and give addition a couple of weeks off. It may sound backwards, but sometimes kiddos don’t learn stuff in the order that we think is logical. How great that she took the initiative with that! What an assertive little girl, great trait!

  3. Kelly, are you good with grammar? I can’t do grammar to save my life! I spent my time proving to my teachers that some of the greatest authors didn’t use proper grammar!

    I found some more great worksheets at familyeducation.com

  4. Number Rings buy Discovery Toys made a HUGE difference in my daughter’s understanding of this concept. My middle daughter has real issues with numbers though she reads realy well. Playing with dice has also helped a lot.

Leave a Reply

