Now we’re getting somewhere!

Sam has almost mastered her sight word flash cards. So why is she still having trouble reading a book? Well, because not all the words in the book were included in her flash cards. Leaving Sammy to be almost able to read an entire book.

Today, I tried to fix that problem for her. I made her some sight word flash cards based on her “One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish” Dr. Seuss book.

This plan worked great in reverse.  Sam finally caught on to reading the word “would” and “could” by my constant reminders that it was in her “Green Eggs and Ham” book.  She was so excited when she could finally read the entire book on her own.  Seeing her struggle with “One Fish” today was sad.   So I’m off to print her cards…  help her learn the words that are in the book.    Then she can proudly say

“I can read TWO books all by myself!!”

3 responses to “Now we’re getting somewhere!

  1. YAY Sam! I have no experience with sight words, but as soon as she picks up the phonics there will be no stopping her reading. Start with some easy words like cat, and say the phonetic names (be sure to include both long and short vowel sound words in your list). It takes several months to learn phonics, but it is well worth the time. Happy reading, it is so much fun to watch them get excited when they can do it themselves! Just wait until she gets into chapter books in a year or so, and that will make for a long evening of reading before bed (our longest thus far is 102 pages, but that will change I’m sure). She does not want to put it down for tomorrow lol. Have a great weekend!

  2. She does phonics at starfall.com. I LOVE that sight… I didn’t learn to read phonetically so I’m learning too. When we find new words I make a point of calling it a “short U” word etc. I’m scared of starting longer books 🙂 They asked me to read to them today for over an hour! and here comes Jo with another book! AAAGGHHH! Six Dr. Seuss books in one day will kill ya!

  3. I agree, there should be a limit on the number of Dr. Seuss books that one can read in a day lol. By the end of the day you start talking like the books, in rhyme.
    Ethan loves the starfall site also (thank you for that). It is so funny listening to them as they dance around sing the sounds letters make.

Leave a Reply

