A Counting Up Craft

My daughter is having some math issues. This gives me great grief as I am pretty proficient mathematically. I’m very visual and it was driving me nuts every time she would add 5 + 1 by starting with 1,2,3,4,5…….. 6! The number one reason for this is simple… well, she’s in Kindergarten. She turned six after the “Birthday Cut off” for public school. THEY say she’s in Kindergarten, I say she’s almost in First Grade. Doesn’t matter now, she’s home schooled… I can teach her whatever I want. SHE wanted to learn addition. She did okay with it, once I convinced her that 2 + 2 was NOT 22!

It wasn’t until we purchased the “Hooked on Math: Addition” workbooks that I realized the concept I was trying to teach her actually had a name: Counting Up. They put a little line on the top of her work book pages that had the numbers 1-20 on top. She could put her finger on “2” and count up 2 more numbers to get the answer 4…

We started using her ruler as our number line for all of our math worksheets. Worked well until we had 8 + 9. Her ruler stops at 12. So I created a “counting up” chain for her to use. The instructions are below:

Counting Up Supplies

Supplies:

The numbers 1-20 printed on cardstock… feel free to use mine Number Cards

Plastic straws (about three will do)

String, or cord… anything your kids would normally use to make bracelets or beaded keychains etc. Mine was some sort of plastic stuff

Tape

Scissors

Beads, to weigh down the ends.

1. Cut out the number cards

2. Tie a knot in one end of your string and add three to four beads.

Beaded Ends

3. Cut the straw into pieces (at least as wide as your tape, not wider than the number cards) and add them to the string.. you need twenty total pieces of straw.

Attaching the cards

4. Add three to four beads, leave some room (at least six or seven inches) then tie another knot.

5. Be careful with this step… make sure your numbers are all facing the same direction and in order and tape the cards to the straw pieces.

My daughter lays hers across her table. She finds the first numeral in the equation, and slides over the number of numerals to be added to the first one… the last card she touches is the answer!

Final Counting Up Pic

Ok, it’s cheesy, but it got her to do her math homework ๐Ÿ™‚

7 responses to “A Counting Up Craft

  1. Wonderful idea–all three of mine are past that but when you get to multiplication , if she still has trouble getting it try Times Tales–I put it off for 3 years and wish I had gotten it immediately. 3 years of “not getting it” and in one hour all three, even the 6 year old “got it.

  2. Say, that’s pretty snazzy!

    We used the garage and a chunk of sidewalk chalk. The line down the middle of the garage is a number line…use chalk to mark off MOSTLY evenly-spaced intervals. Define which end is zero, and which way the numbers go.

    5+1.

    Where do you start? On five. OK, go to number five and stand one it. How many “steps” or “hops” do you have to make? One. Go up ONE tick mark. What’s your answer?

    Now, is it easier to hop from zero to five and then one more, or simply start at the first number to begin with?

    This method can also be adapted using blue painter’s tape on the living room floor. We’ve done everything from number lines to a compass rose to the months of the year this way. For some reason, physically moving from one spot to another seems to really solidify concepts for some kids.

    Also:
    Math Marks the Spot. Good game.
    Math dice. Keep ’em in your purse. Good way to kill time and teach simultaneously.
    Google the term “Math Gnomes.” I think they’re cute.

  3. Heather, thanks for the tips for times tables… This is going to be a tricky subject for me. I know lots of tricks to learning math and algebra from where I had to find a way to understand it different from how the teacher taught it. I’m very very visual. For example, I used a tic tac toe board to help me remember whether the answer was supposed to be positive or negative. I’m worried that I’ll be at a loss if Sam doesn’t learn this way. My brother can’t “see” it visually either and he’ll call me for homework help and I seem to make it worse.

  4. KJWagner, I’m loving the painter’s tape idea! We have a very long hallway that this would work great on! And, what are math dice?

    Hubby and I have been impressed to see more restaurants put “educational” type stuff on their placemats and coloring books. At “Huddle House” yesterday Sam was able to do decoding, math, mazes, and “how many words in a word”. It actually her dad a chance to do some school with her.

    I’m going to check out Math Gnomes… there’s just no way I can NOT investigate that…. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. KJWagner, I’m loving the painter’s tape idea! We have a very long hallway that this would work great on! And, what are math dice?

    Hubby and I have been impressed to see more restaurants put “educational” type stuff on their placemats and coloring books. At “Huddle House” yesterday Sam was able to do decoding, math, mazes, and “how many words in a word”. It actually her dad a chance to do some school with her.

    I’m going to check out Math Gnomes… there’s just no way I can NOT investigate that…. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pingback: 2 + 2 is NOT 22…. hmmmm. « I’m not crazy, I’m homeschooling.

  7. Hey , HAPPY HALOWEN!!!

Leave a Reply

